American Indian College Fund Awards Dr. Robert Martin with Tribal College President Award

Mar 30, 2000 | Blog

Dr. Robert Martin - IAIA President

American Indian College Fund Awards Dr. Robert Martin with Tribal College President Award

March 30, 0000


Denver, Colorado – March 30, 2010 – The American Indian College Fund honored 33 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2009-10 Student of the Year reception at the American Indian Higher Education Consortium Student Conference in Chandler, Arizona.

American Indian College Fund President and CEO Richard B. Williams also presented Dr. Robert Martin, president of the Institute of American Indian Arts in Santa Fe, New Mexico, with the Tribal College President Award for his contributions to American Indian education during his career. Dr. Martin received a $1,000 award.


The Students of the Year each received a $1,000 scholarship from the Castle Rock Foundation. LeoNora Garcia, an elementary education major at Oglala Lakota Community College, said of her career plans that are being funded by Castle Rock, “My passion for education has always been the drive behind my college success. As I continue forward, my goal as a future educator is limitless. My ultimate desire is to influence a community in a positive direction through cultural education and awareness.”


Students of the year for each tribal college and university are as follows:

  • Bay Mills Community College- Stacey Daley, General Science
  • Blackfeet Community College – Cole Wells, Liberal Arts
  • Cankdeska Cikana Community College- Dacia Tollefson, Natural Resources
  • Chief Dull Knife College- Misty LaFranier, Nursing
  • College of Menominee Nation- Lauren Stoehr, Education
  • Dine College- Brian Jones, General Studies
  • Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College- Amy Wise, Chemical Dependency
  • Fort Belknap College- Kim Barrows, Computer Information Systems
  • Fort Berthold Community College- Laci Schettle, Human Services
  • Fort Peck Community College- Jennifer Yellow Hammer, Business Technology
  • Haskell Indian Nations University Jenna Fox, Education
  • Ilisagvik College- Lindi Skin, Accounting
  • Institute of American Indian Arts- Tyler Tarpalechee, Creative Writing/New Media
  • Keweena Bay Ojibwa Community College- Ryan Koski, Liberal Arts
  • Lac Courte Oreilles Community College- Roberta Morgan, Human Services
  • Leech Lake Tribal College- Marie Lowry, Education with STEM emphasis
  • Little Big Horn College- Brooke Stevenson, Nursing
  • Little Priest Tribal College- Sunshine Rave, Business
  • Navajo Technical College- Shane Tsosie, Veterinary Technician
  • Nebraska Indian Community College- Shona Campbell, Business Administration
  • Northwest Indian College- Valerie Phair, Business
  • Oglala Lakota College- LeoNora Garcia, Lakota Studies
  • Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College- Nicole McMullen, Liberal Arts
  • Salish Kootenai College- Katie McDonald, Environmental Science
  • Sinte Gleska University- Sierra Bordeaux, Business Management
  • Sisseton Wahpeton College- Sophia Renville, Chemical Dependency
  • Sitting Bull College- Audra Stonefish, Environmental Science
  • Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute- Rosan Primeaux, Business Administration
  • Stone Child College- Joshua Golden, Allied Health
  • Tohono O’odham Community College- Sky Antone, Creative Writing
  • Turtle Mountain Community College- Adrienne Laducer, Secondary Science Teacher
  • United Tribes Technical College- Sheila White Mountain, Business Administration
  • White Earth Tribal and Community College- James Libby Jr., Humanities & Social Sciences


Recent Posts