August 18, 2021 4:00 p.m., ET/3:00 p.m., CT/1:00 p.m., PT

Register: https://pages2.act.org/student-parents.html

Join us for a 60-minute session that will highlight the experiences of student parents in higher education. We’ll hear from Nicole Lynn Lewis, CEO and founder of Generation Hope, former teen mother, social entrepreneur, and author, about her own lived experience as a young student parent and why she founded Generation Hope in 2010. Nicole will share best practices for student parent success through systemic shifts in higher education and state/national advocacy. She will also speak about her new book, Pregnant Girl, which is part memoir and part call to action. Nicole will facilitate a panel of three Generation Hope Scholars–all teen parents or former teen parents pursuing their college degrees–who will share their experiences with balancing parenting, school, and work. Panelists will also discuss the kinds of supports that have enabled them to persist through their higher education journeys.