The Coca-Cola Foundation and College Fund Honor First-Generation Native Scholars

Mar 18, 2016 | Blog

March 18, 2016

The Coca Cola Foundation and the American Indian College Fund honored 36 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2015-16 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship banquet at the American Indian Higher Education Consortium Student Conference in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

The Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship was established to fund unmet need for a student’s first year in college. If students maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average and show strong participation in campus and community life, their scholarships are renewed every year throughout their tribal college careers.

The following students were named 2015-2016 Coca-Cola Foundation First Generation Scholars:

  • Shannon Morin, Aaniiih Nakoda College, Business Technology
  • Helen Bouschor, Bay Mills Community College, Business Administration
  • Alycia Thomas, Blackfeet Community College, Psychology
  • Brooke Redfox, Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Liberal Arts
  • Chloe Ortega, Chief Dull Knife College, General Studies
  • Citralina Haruo, College of Menominee Nation, Natural Resources
  • Cherisse Tiger, College of the Muscogee Nation, Public & Tribal Administration
  • Felisha Adams, Dine College, Business Administration
  • Vienna Kagak, Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College, Pre-Health/Pre-Nursing
  • Ellissa Cyr, Fort Peck Community College, Human Services
  • Cornelius Tsosie, Haskell Indian Nations University, American Indian/Native American Studies
  • Olive Kanayurak, Ilisagvik College, General Studies
  • Lashawn Medicine Horn, Institute of American Indian Arts, Studio Arts
  • Mary Durant, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, Liberal Arts
  • Christine Zortman, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College, Small Business Management/Entrepreneurship
  • Mike Kohler, Leech Lake Tribal College, Forestry
  • Jolene Spotted Bear, Little Big Horn College, Pre-Nursing
  • Mateya Cleveland, Little Priest Tribal College, Health
  • Michelle Becenti, Navajo Technical University, Mathematics
  • Rose Buffalo Chief, Nebraska Indian Community College, Business Management
  • Michael Schjang, Northwest Indian College, American Indian/Native American Studies
  • Sheil, Cooper, Northwest Indian College, Native Environmental Science
  • Jovonne Fox, Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College, Elementary Education
  • Marilee Hultgren, Oglala Lakota College, Social Work
  • Alex Loeb, Oglala Lakota College, Social Work
  • Gilberto Franco, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College, Biology
  • Michele Dennis, Salish Kootenai College, Elementary Education
  • Whitney Jones, Sinte Gleska University, Alcohol & Drug Counseling
  • ShoShana Saddler, Sisseton Wahpeton College, Business Administration
  • Jody Wingate, Sitting Bull College, Business Administration
  • Martina Bitsinnie, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, Optical Laboratory Technology
  • Courtney Small, Stone Child College, Secondary Science Education
  • Richanda Miles, Tohono O’odham Community College, Social Work
  • Whitney Bercier, Turtle Mountain Community College, Licensed Practical Nursing
  • Randolph Two Crow, United Tribes Technical College, Criminal Justice
  • Kali Lhotka, White Earth Tribal and Community College, Human Services

See Photos From the Event

2016 Coke SOY Banquet

Recent Blog Posts

Century of Citizenship

Century of Citizenship

American Indian and Alaska Native communities have achieved a great deal in the past century. Here at the American Indian College Fund, we look forward to what successes the future will bring as we encourage Native students, scholars, and communities alike to use the tools of citizenship to make their voices heard and their peoples prosper.