The Coca-Cola Foundation and the College Fund Honor First-Generation Scholarship Recipients

March 16, 2015

Native American Pop artist Frank Wahn, Lakota, entertains the crowd of Native American College Students in Albuquerque..

Native American Pop artist Frank Wahn, Lakota, entertains the crowd of Native American College Students in Albuquerque..

The Coca Cola Foundation and the American Indian College Fund honored 36 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2014-15 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship banquet at the American Indian Higher Education Consortium Student Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Attendees were also treated to entertainment by award-winning artist Frank Waln.

The Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship was established to fund unmet need for a student’s first year in college. If students maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average and show strong participation in campus and community life, their scholarships are renewed every year throughout the students’ tribal college career.


The following students were named 2014-2015 Coca-Cola Foundation First Generation Scholars:

Michelle Lonebear – Aaniiih Nakoda College
Dana Marble – Bay Mills Community College
Alycia Thomas – Blackfeet Community College
Violet Hill – Cankdeska Cikana Community College
Chloe Ortega – Chief Dull Knife College
Eric Schneider – College of Menominee Nation
Rufus Cox – College of the Muscogee Nation
Dallas Peterman – Dine College
Vienna Kagak – Fond du Lac Tribal & Community College
Nathan White Horse – Fort Berthold Community College
Ellissa Cyr – Fort Peck Community College
Cornelius Tsosie – Haskell Indian Nations University
Jaime Patkotak – Ilisagvik College
Charles Rencountre – Institute of American Indian Arts
Dylan Friisvall – Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College
Daniel Gurske – Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College
Holly Rabbit – Leech Lake Tribal College
Jolene Spotted Bear – Little Big Horn College
Kayleen Blackhawk – Little Priest Tribal College
Michelle Becenti – Navajo Technical University
Christopher Ross – Nebraska Indian Community College
Michael Schjang – Northwest Indian College
Sheila Cooper – Northwest Indian College
Marilee Hultgren – Oglala Lakota College
Alex Loeb – Oglala Lakota College
Gilberto Franco – Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College
Michele Dennis – Salish Kootenai College
Whitney Jones – Sinte Gleska University
ShoShana Saddler – Sisseton Wahpeton College
Anthony John – Sitting Bull College
Arlo Werito – Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute
Jade Yazzie – Stone Child College
Marilyn Francisco – Tohono O’odham Community College
Tracey Laducer – Turtle Mountain Community College
Joshua Standing Elk – United Tribes Technical College
Marilyn Thompson – White Earth Tribal and Community College


Below, many young community leaders and American Indian royalty from New Mexico were also in attendance.

American Indian Royalty