The Coca-Cola Foundation and American Indian College Fund Honor 36 First-Generation Scholars

Mar 20, 2014 | Blog


The Coca-Cola Foundation and American Indian College Fund Honor 36 First-Generation Scholars

March 20, 2014


Coca-Cola First Generation Scholar and Student of the Year from Tohono O’odham Community College, Marilyn Francisco, is congratulated the banquet. >>>>see photos on

The Coca Cola Foundation and the American Indian College Fund honored 36 American Indian scholarship recipients at its 2013-14 Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship banquet at the American Indian Higher Education Consortium Student Conference in Billings, Montana.The Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship was established to fund unmet need for a Native American student’s first year in college with a $5,000 scholarship. If students maintain at least a 3.0 grade point average and show strong participation in campus and community life, their scholarships are renewed every year throughout the students’ tribal college career.

“Being a first generation college student is filled with new experiences and opportunities. Our Coca Cola scholars are the first in their families to focus on receiving their bachelor’s degree and we are proud at the College Fund to partner with Coca Cola to help the dreams of these students to come true,” said Cheryl Crazy Bull, President and CEO of the American Indian College Fund.

The following Coca-Cola First Generation Scholarship recipients were honored at the event: Michelle Lonebear, Aaniiih Nakoda College, Allied Health
Francis Gardner, Bay Mills Community College, Social Science
Alycia Thomas, Blackfeet Community College, Psychology
Chelsea Young, Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Nursing
Lloydine Runsabove, Chief Dull Knife College, General Studies
George Otradovec, College of Menominee Nation, Business Administration
Shannon Calderon, College of the Muscogee Nation, General Studies
Tevin Tso, Diné College, American Indian Studies
Vienna Kagak, Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College, Biology
Nathan White Horse, Fort Berthold Community College, Business Administration
Ellissa Cyr, Fort Peck Community College, Human Services
Kassie James, Haskell Indian Nations University, American Indian Studies
Laura Nicolai, Ilisagvik College, Allied Health
Charles Rencountre, Institute of American Indian, Arts Studio Arts
Dylan Friisvall, Keweenaw Bay Ojibwa Community College, Environmental Science
Melissa Ashmun, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College, Human Services
Daniel Gurske, Lac Courte Oreilles Ojibwa Community College, Natural Resources
Holly Rabbit, Leech Lake Tribal College, Law Enforcement
Helen Real Bird, Little Big Horn College, Human Services
Frederick Harden, Little Priest Tribal College, Environ. Public Health
Michelle Becenti, Navajo Technical University, Mathematics
Elaine Provost, Nebraska Indian Community College, Business Administration
Tara Anderson, Northwest Indian College, Human Services
Michael Schjang, Northwest Indian College, Undeclared
Marilee Hultgren, Oglala Lakota College, Social Work
Jennifer Arnold, Saginaw Chippewa Tribal College, Liberal Arts
Michele Dennis, Salish Kootenai College, Elementary Education
Earl Peneaux, Sr., Sinte Gleska University, Elementary Education
Alicia Amos, Sisseton Wahpeton College, Licensed Practical Nursing
Briana Ebel, Sitting Bull College, Human Services
Arlo Werito, Southwestern Indian Polytechnic Institute, Natural Resource Mgmt.
Sheyenne Bauer, Stone Child College Early Childhood, Education
Marilyn Francisco, Tohono O’odham Community, College Liberal Arts
Tracey Laducer, Turtle Mountain Community College, Elementary Education
Joshua Standing Elk, United Tribes Technical College, Elementary Education
Charles Pederson, White Earth Tribal and Community College, Human Services


Recent Posts